Assists Explained - Wednesday, 29 November

By: Fantasy League 30th November 2017


The assists awarded so far this season have been fairly straight-forward, but Wednesday night's matches brought about some points scoring events that require some further explanation.



Burnley's first goal (v Bournemouth)
Goal: Chris Wood
Assist: None

An attempted shot on goal from Robbie Brady was diverted into the path of Wood by defender Steve Cook - without the deflection, the ball was heading towards the far corner of the goal, not towards Wood. As the defensive intervention caused a significant change of direction and was not a goal-line clearance, no assist was awarded as a result.

Zappacosta defender points (v Swansea)

Zappacosta was officially subsituted in the 75th minute (i.e. completing 74 full minutes) of this game.

As stated in the scoring rules:

http://www.fantasyleague.com/Pro/GameGuide/Scoring.aspx (see 'Defensive Player Points')

"If a defensive player completes 75 minutes or more of a game (again excluding injury time) and no goals are conceded whilst he's on the pitch, then that player will be awarded two extra points for a ‘clean sheet’ (three points total). Therefore a starting player must be on the pitch at 75:00 to qualify for a clean sheet. Fantasy League use Press Association sources for the timing of substitutions."

Hence, this explains why Zappacosta was only awarded one point for a defender appearance and not three points for a clean sheet.

Everton's first goal (v West Ham)
Goal: Wayne Rooney
Assist: Dominic Calvert-Lewin

This is in accordance with the following rule:

http://www.fantasyleague.com/Pro/GameGuide/Scoring.aspx (see 'Assists')

"When a penalty is awarded, a player fouled earns an assist if the penalty is subsequently converted.

If a goalkeeper parries a penalty and the penalty taker scores from the rebound, then the assist remains as above. If a different player converts the rebound, then the penalty taker gets the assist."

This is essentially an extension of the rule in open play that the assist remains if the goalscorer has a shot saved by the goalkeeper but then scores with the follow-up.

Everton's second goal (v West Ham)
Goal: Wayne Rooney
Assist: Tom Davies and Jonjoe Kenny

Davies' cross from the right was touched-on/miscontrolled by Kenny before falling to Rooney, who swept the ball into the net for both his and Everton's second goal of the game.

As the cross was heading in the vicinity of Rooney even before the slight deflection off Kenny, a double assist was duly awarded for this goal.


We are always happy to explain why assists were/weren't given in accordance with the stated rules, so if you do have a query regarding points awarded, feel free to email [email protected]


Comments

Report Abuse

Please choose what you want to report


Enter a comment (not mandatory)
Report

Cancel

  Please sign in to be able to post.